Misdemeanor Charges in Ohio – Columbus Criminal Defense Attorney

The state of Ohio classifies misdemeanor offenses into five categories: first, second, third, fourth, and minor misdemeanors. Below you will find information about the various levels of misdemeanors.

Petty theft would be an example of a first degree misdemeanor. A first degree misdemeanor carries a prison sentence of up to 180 days. In addition to, or separate from, a prison sentence, a person convicted of a first degree misdemeanor could be forced to pay fine up to $1000.

A person convicted of a second degree misdemeanor could be forced to pay fine up to $750. In addition they could be facing sentence of up to 90 days. Obstructing official business would be an example of a second degree misdemeanor.

If you facing a third degree misdemeanor, you are facing a fine of up to $500 and a potential prison sentence of up to 60 days.

A fourth degree misdemeanor carries a prison sentence of up to 30 days if convicted. In addition a defendant can be fined up to $250. Failure to disperse is an example of a fourth degree misdemeanor.

If you are charged with a minor misdemeanor such as disorderly conduct, you will not receive a jail sentence but you face a fine up to $150.

Defending Misdemeanor Charges – Columbus Criminal Defense Attorney

If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you need to talk to a criminal defense attorney immediately. Wolfe Legal Services has 20 years of experience as a criminal defense attorney and will fight for you in your misdemeanor case.

Free Consultation

Your Phone (required)

Search Words Used (required)

Please prove you are human by selecting the House.

Blog

Sep
12
Don't fall for a social security scam which claims your SSN has been frozen. No government agency will call or email you and request payment in the form of wire transfers or gift cards. Read More
May
15
During the two hour period, you can ask the attorney who answers any legal question at no cost. Also get referrals to other resources in the community. Read More